Pitchfork formed in 1986 in San Diego. The lineup consisted of Rick Froberg on vocals (who would sometimes use the stage name Rick Farr or Rick Fork), John Reis on guitar and piano, Don Ankrom on bass and Joey Piro on drums. Their musical influences included Mission of Burma, Sonic Youth and others. In 1988 they recorded their first and only vinyl 7", Saturn Outhouse, consisting of three songs and released the following year.

In 1989 Ankrom left the band and was replaced by Nick Frederick. They entered Radio Tokyo studios and recorded their only album, Eucalyptus, which was released the following year on local label Nemesis Records. Froberg provided artwork for the album while Reis acted as producer. The band broke up shortly thereafter.

Following the breakup of Pitchfork Reis and Froberg formed Drive Like Jehu, in which they performed until 1995. Reis simultaneously formed Rocket from the Crypt, which he performed in until 2005. During the 1990s he also released a solo effort under the name Back Off Cupids, and from 2000-2007 performed in the Sultans. From 1999-2005 Reis and Froberg again reunited in the Hot Snakes. In 2003 Reis re-released Eucalyptus and Saturn Outhouse as a single CD through his record label Swami Records. Froberg's current band is the Obits, formed in 2006, while Reis formed The Night Marchers in 2007.

Saturn Outhouse (1989)
Eucalyptus (1990)

0 Response to "Pitchfork"

Отправить комментарий